How to delete a Google account permanently?

delete-google-account-tickoid.com

Sometimes it is necessary to delete your Google account in case, if your account is overrun by spam or you no longer need the account. It is possible to permanently delete your Google account. You can also recover the deleted account within a short time of your account deletion.

Here, we will look into deleting the entire Google account on PC. The below steps are almost similar in most of the devices. Please browse through this article, if you want to know about deleting Google activity history.

Delete Google Account

Deleting your Google account is deleting the whole account with all its dependent services. You can delete any particular service from Google like YouTube, Gmail or Play Games instead of deleting your entire Google account. To know about deleting any specific Google service read this article, where we clearly explained about deleting the Gmail account. Deleting any Google service is similar to deleting a Gmail account.

Points to remember before deleting a Google account

A Google account is an entire package of services offered by Google. Deleting a entire account is totally different from deleting a single service under the account. So, be cautious while deleting your Google account.

  1. You cannot get back your emails, notes, files, photos, and videos once your account is deleted.
  2. All your data tied to the Google account from other Google services like Gmail, Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Books is deleted permanently.
  3. You lose all your subscriptions across all the Google services of the deleted account.
  4. If you use an Android device, you no longer get app updates from Play Store and you lose access to music, books, videos, contacts and GDrive data. But you can still log in with another Gmail account. If you want to continue using these services on mobile, please make sure to have other Google account in place before deleting the intended account.

Precautions

These are things you may want to do before you delete your Google account permanently. Just reminding, taking necessary precautions are always better than crying over lost data.

  1. Take a backup of your important data like Emails with attachments, calendar info, conversation, contacts, photos, and any other data.
  2. Do back up your Google Drive and Google Docs data.
  3. If you are using your Google account to login to any other non-Google service, don’t forget to sign up with another Google account to avoid your account loss or last-minute hassles.
  4. If you have subscribed to any movie or book on this Google account, finish reading or watching it before deleting your account.
  5. If you are using an Android device or Chrome book with this Google account, please log out and log in with any other active Google account.

How to delete Google account

Follow the steps to delete your Google account.

Step 1: Open the Google home page on a web browser and sign in to your account.

Step 2: Click on your profile picture on the top right corner of the page and then click Manage your Google account.

Step 3: Go to Data & personalization page and click Delete a service or your account. If you want to download your data before deleting your account, click on Download your data.

Step 4: On the next page, click on Delete your account under Delete your Google Account.

Step 5: Read and understand the given two conditions. Click both the checkboxes and click DELETE ACCOUNT.

You will see a confirmation page that says your Google account and all its data have been deleted.

You will receive a mail to your alternative mail id about your Google account deletion.

Recover a deleted Google account

You have a short time to rethink. If you want to undo your Google account deletion and retain your account with all your data, you should recover your account immediately.

Go to the Google home page and try to log in to your deleted Google account with your credentials. You will see a screen like this. Click Next to proceed. Re-enter your password if required.

You will see a confirmation message that your account has been successfully recovered. Click on Continue to use your account.

You will receive a mail about this process into your recovery mail id.

Here you go,your Google account has been recovered from deletion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *